Tags

, , , , , , , ,

Recently it has been brought to my attention that in order to get an agent these days, your social media life needs to be soaring sky high.  Agents are apparently very interested in what you do with Twitter, Facebook, your blog… What’s your Klout score again?  Before I read that article, I didn’t even know what Klout was.  Then I signed up, and haven’t checked it in several weeks.  It’s not a great score, but it works for me, for now, since I’m still fairly new to this social media thing.

To that end, to make sure I could stay connected constantly, I ended up buying myself a smart phone, so I could tweet and blog my way to that mystical number of 10,000 followers.  And you know what I discovered after about twenty-four hours?  This is tiring work.  Trying to keep up with everything at once, updating twitter, facebook, instagram, and those are just the easy ones to work with.  Once I’m done with all that, I still have to find time to make a compelling blog entry to increase my internet presence even more.  And it’s not enough that I come up with the content.  Oh, no, once I’m done with that, I have to come up with a snappy title and relevant tags so that people actually find my blog and read my content.

Although I’m a bit curious about the number of twitter followers and how exactly someone came up with that one.  It’s a rather high number to reach.  I mean, Dan Feuerreigel doesn’t even have that many.  He only has 8,500.  Dan Feuerriegel couldn’t even sell my novel for me if he were so inclined.  He can’t even sell his own.  Well, maybe he could.  They might be a little more lenient with him just because he has a steadily growing fanbase.  And yes, I included him just so I could tag this post with his name.  He remains one of the most popular topic on my blog despite being in only a few posts.  Thank you, Dan, for being such a sweetheart. ;)

Picture of Dan, so all the loyal Fury’s are not disappointed. ;)

So what is the end result of this new popularity contest?  Well, for starters, I have two short stories I’m working on, and about six novels that are in various stages of manuscript form, and they are sitting gathering the computer equivalent of dust while I type this blog post while simultaneously tweeting about what I ate for lunch.   Granted, I don’t mind the blogging; I found I actually enjoy blogging since I don’t have literary friends to tell how I felt about the most recent book I read.  But when it comes to stalking Twitter, I would much rather be writing.  I need a surgical procedure that will give me two additional hands and an additional eye so I can type with the current two and stalk Twitter with the added appendages.

Not only that, but apparently you aren’t supposed to blog about your books.  So let’s say I create a highly successful blog about video games.  I get tons of followers, everybody flocks to my posts to get the latest and greatest information, and I finally score that 10,000.  Alright, I’m now qualified on the social media scale.  Of those 10,000 followers who look to me for advice about video games, how many of them are going to read my paranormal romance when it comes out?  That’s what I thought.  Or, maybe I decided to do a cooking blog.  Who of those followers will read my epic sci-fi novel?  The point is, your number of followers is not going to correlate to your number of sales in any way, especially if the topic is unrelated.  Yet, most of us will continue to play the game, including myself, because we want to see our novel in print.  Not to mention, Facebook is in a steady state of decline.

