The No Asshole Rule by Robert I. Sutton

The No Asshole Rule: Building a Civilized Workplace and Surviving One That Isn'tThe No Asshole Rule: Building a Civilized Workplace and Surviving One That Isn’t by Robert I. Sutton
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

This book certainly provided some amusing stories about the harrasment people face every day in the work place, most of which made me realize how lucky I had it. As far as the book’s value into helping people with assholes, it really is not that useful. The author’s advice is to think happy thoughts, try to remain a positive outlook while expecting the worst, or better yet, to just find another job. Advice that practically anyone could have handed out.

The most useful part of this book for me was actually the section on learning how to identify an asshole, because sometimes they aren’t the people you think they are. Identification is, after all, the first step to avoidance and the path to a healthier work you. It helped me realize that one of my fellow coworkers was a certified asshole, even though he wasn’t constantly yelling at people or acting like a complete, noticeable jerk. No, this book helped me realize my coworker was an asshole in a much more subtle manner: constantly belittling people by “teasing” them and constantly turning everything into a sex joke. While not as noticeable as the coworker who yells, this book helped me realize that he is still very much an asshole, one that leaves a bitter taste with you after you walk away. Thanks to the identification process in this book, I now do my best to avoid his crude behavior with some of the tactics listed, and have since improved my attitude on the job.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

