Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows

Sherlock Holmes: A Game of Shadows (4.5/5 stars)

Anyone else have that awkward moment halfway through the movie where they realized the last time they saw Stephen Fry and Jude Law in the same movie they were playing a couple?  And that in Gyles Brandreth’s novel, he suggested Mycroft was based on Oscar Wilde, played also by Stephen Fry in said movie?  Just me?  Well, even if I was the only one, it certainly did provide a new spin on different scenes.

That being said, I quite enjoyed this film.  While I never slashed Holmes and Watson before the 2009 version, I fully enjoyed the performances by Robert Downey Jr and Jude Law.  This movie took the subtext into a whole new level of ‘Are we sure this isn’t text?’  At this point, I’m not sure the cast and crew know the answer to that question.  I can’t be the only one who heard the beard line and thought ‘But Watson is the one with the beard.’  And don’t even get me started on the waltzing.  In fact, if you want a review on how bromantic the movie is, I shall just direct you here.

As for the plot, I’m not sure there was much of a plot beyond ‘Holmes will go through extraordinary lengths to keep Watson safe.’  Even if half those times he fails in that regard.  Not that I’m complaining about the plot, I would take that over I Love You, Man anyday.  The supporting roles were all fantastic, especially Stephen Fry and Noomi Rapace.

The only complaint I really have is on the chase through the woods.  In my opinion, it was overdrawn and overly dramatic, and if there would have been a point I would have walked out, that would have been it.  However, I stuck it out in the belief the quality would go back up.  Which it did.

Recommended for: Fans of the 2009 version.

Leave a Reply

