Review: Graphic Design for Non-designers: The Ultimate Primer for the Design Rookie

Graphic Design for Non-designers: The Ultimate Primer for the Design Rookie by Tony Seddon
My rating: 3 of 5 stars

I have mixed feelings about this book. It was the third book I read in a series of design books to give me some idea of how the industry worked, so by the time I got to this one, some of the information was repetitive. However, there were some very strong points about this book that made it stand out. First of all, the end section has plans to help you develop all sorts of design projects, from flyers to business cards to websites to posters, this book gives you the tools you need to get the ideas flowing. It also had a useful directory of online image resources, to help you get the graphics you need at a low cost for any type of project you may want to design.

However, this book had one major flaw. For being a book about good graphic design, it had a very poor font choice. The font was so thin and pale that it was difficult to read unless under the brightest light settings. As it was, I ended up reading most of it at work because that was the only time I could actually see the words clearly. I don’t know how I am supposed to take graphic design advice from someone who uses a font that is nearly illegible.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

