Review: The Stepsister Scheme

The Stepsister Scheme
The Stepsister Scheme by Jim C. Hines
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wanted to love this book. I was thrilled by the notion of the princesses going out and doing something for a change. What made it even better was it was the three princesses I didn’t like from the “Classic” Disney films. I thought finally I would be able to find something I respect about them thanks to this book. I did like them, especially Talia, and am planning on getting at least the next book in the series. But this book was far from perfect, and almost got three stars from me.

The princesses were great, the storyline was intriguing, even the side characters added a bit of life to it, but something fell flat in the way of execution. After a certain time, I got tired of being reminded of how ample Snow’s chest was, and how Talia was a near perfect fighter because of her cursed fairy gifts. Yup. I remember, I don’t need reminded of these things every twenty pages or so.

The fourth star actually comes in because of a cute little revelation that comes when they are trying to revive Snow from her mother’s curse. At that point, Danielle and the readers find out that Talia loves Snow, strong enough to break the spell as it would turn out. This turned out to be worth the extra star because it was a lesbian crush that was not thrown in to titilate the readers. Considering Snow is unaware of Talia’s feelings, it wasn’t thrown in to be gimmicky at all in the first book. It’s a rare feat in the literary world, and I applaud Jim Hines for including it.

Over all, it was a cute, easy read that I would recommend to anyone who wasn’t satisfied with the “Happily Ever After.”

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

