Review: On Writing Romance: How to Craft a Novel That Sells

On Writing Romance: How to Craft a Novel That Sells
On Writing Romance: How to Craft a Novel That Sells by Leigh Michaels
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is a great book for beginning romance authors who need some helpful hints on how to craft their story. I picked it up for free on the Nook, and I’m glad I did. Michaels gives advice on crafting the perfect heroine and hero, how to get your plot moving, how to keep your plot from being too contrived, and even ends with tips on how to sell your manuscript.

I don’t write a lot of romance novels, but I found this book extremely helpful in other aspects as well. For one thing, it will also help if you have a romance subplot in another book. I’m currently in the middle of a massive overhaul of the one romance novel I’ve written so far, and I’ll be keeping the tips in mind while I’m doing it. Only time will tell exactly how useful this information is in a practical purpose.

However, the most useful part for me was an entire portion of the dialogue section dedicated to how men and women speak differently. There’s even special attention dedicated to if you’re a man trying to write a woman or a woman trying to write a man. This has far-reaching implications beyond the romance novel. For instance, I’m planning a historical trilogy where the middle book only is told from the perspective of a male, and was worried how I was going to make the voice sound like a male since I don’t have a lot of experience in that matter. With Michaels’ book as a reference guide, I believe I’ll have no problems in making his voice unique.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: On Writing Romance: How to Craft a Novel That Sells

Leave a Reply

