Reading Meme: 11 Questions

Here are the game rules:

  1. Post the rules.
  2. Answer the questions.
  3. Pass the questions on to eleven other bloggers by tagging and linking to them in our post.
  4. Let them know they’ve been tagged.

Now for the questions.

1. If you could live in a fictional world, where would that be?

Westeros!  Ha.  No.  That would be a terrible answer.  Love the books, love some of the characters, but I would not want to pack my family up and move there.  Honest answer would have to either be Valdemar, because even if I never had a Companion, I would love to see one, or the universe as portrayed in Acorna.

2. Do you prefer to read Fiction or non-fiction?

Fiction, although if the topic is interesting enough, I’m not adverse to non-fiction.  I also find myself reading a lot of nonfiction for research, which has lead to interesting topics such as virology, the Italian Renaissance, or the prehistoric world.  Sometimes I’ll read fiction and nonfiction about the same topic and love them both.  For instance, anyone interested in Caterina Sforza, I recommend The Scarlet Contessa by Jeanne Kalogridis and The Tigress of Forli by Elizabeth Lev.

3. Do you read in noisy or quiet places?

I can read anywhere, actually.  While my favorite place to read is my hammock in the sun, that’s not always possible and it’s not always quiet either.  I spend a lot of time reading at work, and the coffee shop tends to be a bit noisy depending on the time of day.

4. Do reviews influence your choice of reads?

Not usually.  I’m finding I can trust reviews less and less, as there are books that have great reviews that I find I absolutely despise.   The Girl With The Dragon Tattoo comes to mind as a book I read that I simply did not understand the hype, and I was surprised to learn that A World I Never Made received such glowing reviews on goodreads.

5. Audio books or paperbacks?

Hardback, paperback, nook.  In that order.  Never audiobooks.  I find it much more rewarding to actually read the book itself, and there’s far less likely to be distractions.

6. What was the first book you remember reading?

Bears in the Night.  If we’re talking slightly more advanced reading, The Lion, The Witch and the Wardrobe.  The first massive book I read was White Fang, somewhere around the time of second grade because I remembered the vast feeling of accomplishment I got from reading such a lengthy book on my own initiative.

7. Favorite author?

Sarah Ash.  I know that some of you have probably never heard of her.  But I fell in love with her books years ago, made the effort to contact her, and discovered we actually had a lot in common.  She was the first person to offer me encouragement on my writing, and while she’s never actually read anything of mine, I will always keep her advice to me on the subject dear to my heart.  Favorite books and favorite authors will come and go, but she will always be my number one answer to this question because of how much she has inspired me.

Other favorites include Mercedes Lackey, Terry Goodkind, Brian Jacques, Anne McCaffrey, Terry Pratchett and Neil Gaiman.

8. Classic or Modern Novels?

Mostly modern, though I will pull out classics since they have a tendency to be free on the nook.

9. Have you ever met your favorite author?

Almost, once.  When I was in London, she was unfortunately out of town at her  sister’s wedding.  Living in different countries puts a rather large damper on possible meet-ups.

10. Book groups or solitary reading?

Solitary reading.  While I enjoy discussing books with other people, I’ve gotten the vague impression that what is being read in book clubs is not my cup of tea.

11. If you could read only one book for the rest of your life, what would it be?

Good Omens.  Because if there was ever a point where they would only be one book I could read for the rest of my life, the world must be ending anyway.  This way I’m not only entertained, but I’m keeping my reading topical.

Unfortunately for the rules of the game, I’m not going to tag anyone.  Quite frankly, I’m still rather new to the site and don’t have many friends.  That being said, if you have stumbled upon this post and found anything I said interesting, please feel free to talk to me.  Seriously.  I love making new friends and I promise that I won’t bite.

Leave a Reply

