The Hunger Games: Blu-Ray Exclusives

I’ve looked, but I’ve been unable to find this information in one spot.  So, if you haven’t preordered the Hunger Games on Blu-ray anywhere and you’re still deciding where to get it, I’ve broken down the various exclusive editions and what special features they contain so you can make an informed decision.

Walmart

The Walmart edition comes in a long box with the blu-ray, digital copy and a bonus Mockingjay pendant.  Special videos that can be downloaded with the code inside include The Stunts of the Hunger Games and Capitol Couture: The Styles of Panem which comes in at 30 minutes.  You can buy this one for 26.99.


Target

Target’s edition comes in a snazzy little three-fold case.  It contains 45 minutes of bonus content, including: Tribute Diaries, Tribute Biographies, Stories from the Tributes, and Tribute Photo Gallery.  The Blu-Ray special edition is currently online only and can be yours for 24.99.

Best Buy

The great part about the Best Buy edition is that it is the only one I’ve found so far that includes Blu-ray, DVD and Digital copy.  It also comes with two discs of special features, one Blu-ray, one DVD.  I haven’t seen anything about any exclusive content, and this boxset comes with one major flaw.  The box, while admittedly beautiful, takes up far more room than the basic DVD.  I’m still having trouble figuring out where to put my Get Smart Best Buy exclusive case.  If space is not an issue for you, however, this beautiful collection can be found at Best Buy for 29.99 on Saturday.

Update (8/20): I’ve heard from various sources that the Best Buy Blu-Ray Exclusive edition is known to be defective.  Several viewers have reported audio glitches and skipping towards the second half of the movie.  To my knowledge, these problems are exclusive to the Best Buy edition.

Those are the only three editions in the US that I know of, outside of the basic Blu-Ray you can buy anywhere.  If you know of any I haven’t seen, let me know so I can add them.  I hope this helps you make an informed decision about which version of The Hunger Games you want to buy.

Leave a Reply

