Review: Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?

Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me?
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? by Mindy Kaling

My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love Mindy Kaling, and I always wondered why because while Kelly is entertaining, she and I have nothing in common. After reading this book, I’ve discovered Mindy is in reality a girl after my own heart, only Indian and a lot more popular. Oh, she’s also funnier than I could ever hope to be. My humor always, always falls flat when it comes to the written word. In fact, people have a tendency to think I’m being stupid or downright mean when I try to translate to written humor. I could probably learn a lot from her when it comes to wading the murky waters of the social media scene. According to a recent magazine article, so could Steve Carell.

So, this isn’t the best book in the world, and it’s not even the funniest, but I would still give it five stars every time. It makes you feel like Mindy is your best friend, going on a long road trip with you and telling you all these stories. I’ve seen complaints about the lack of a unified theme in this book, which is true. It’s also true of other celebrity books I’ve read. This book reads more like a series of blog entries. Does she have a blog? Because if she does, I feel like I should be reading it.

This book made me feel connected to her in a way I don’t normally get to feel with other television actors. There was a great story towards the end where she was talking about a photoshoot she did for Time. When she got there, the stylist had brought all size zero sample dresses, and Mindy is not a size zero. The only thing that was remotely close was an ugly navy blue shawl thingy. So, she went and had a little cry in the bathroom, balled up, and went back to… Well, I’ll let her tell you the rest of the story. At any rate, having been the victim of crying in the bathroom of work myself, it made me realize how much she is a girl after my own heart.

So, Mindy, if you’re ever in Pittsburgh, call me. We’ll get together and have a nice chat.

View all my reviews
Is Everyone Hanging Out Without Me? (And Other Concerns)

Leave a Reply

