Resident Evil 6: Hands-On Demo

So, this demo actually got off on the right foot with me, and for a brief moment, I thought Capcom was going to do something right.  I downloaded the demo on the first day, and was pleased to see that when I played through, I could actually choose to be Helena or Sherry.  Whether or not this feature is present in the actual game remains to be seen, but I really hope it is.  I would love to be able to play as one of the female characters first run-through without having to hop onto someone else’s game.

Leon’s Scenario

I actually played through this one twice.  Once as Helena by myself, and once as Leon with a partner.  This section of the game is the one marketed as horror oriented.  For the demo portion, you travel down the deserted hallway of the university building, never knowing when a zombie might be lurking around the corner.  The atmosphere itself is great, Leon and Helena both have some awesome moves, but that’s about all the good I can say about it.  At one point, you have to get through a gate to get off campus, and when you get there, you find the gate is locked.  Great!  Now we have to find a key and use our brains!  This is some old school horror, and it feels wonderful!  Then Hunnigan has to go and ruin it all.  Even in the survival horror portion of the game, you are babied, and the computer holds your hand the entire time.  Oh no, that gate is locked?  Don’t worry, Hunnigan is going to tell you exactly where to find it, thereby taking all the mystery, exploration, and fun out of the game.  Shhh, it’s okay, player, the computer is here to help you and guide you.  Lame.  Are gamers really getting that dumb that they can’t  find a simple key card, or is that just how the industry has started to view us?  I remember a time when a Silent Hill 3 puzzle required intricate knowledge of Shakespeare to solve.  Yeah, you won’t be getting that in this game.   Or if it came up, Hunnigan would just rattle off the answer for you.  What a buzzkill.

On the other hand, it was fun to see my partner make the exact same mistake I did and try to shoot the zombie sitting on the bench before it started moving.  In that regard: Capcom, we know it’s a zombie, we know it’s going to attack us, so why won’t you let us shoot it first?  It doesn’t make the game more terrifying, just annoying.  Oh, and I nearly died once and Leon forcefed me some green crack.  It was awkward.

Chris’ Scenario

To the person who played this with me: you were great.  Really.  I’m sorry our friendship is going to have to end so soon.

This portion is the action-oriented segment and my first impression is that this game consists of the world’s worst interface.   The camera is too tight, Chris takes up about half of my screen so I never even know if something’s around to start shooting at me, and the cover schematics is not very intuitive at all.  In fact, I had to go back and experiment in Leon’s slower-paced environment to get the hang of it, and I still don’t think I have it.  So, you run around, shoot a bunch of enemies… and that’s it for the demo.  Joy.  If I wanted to do that, I would have played Mass Effect 3 multiplayer, which has a great interface that’s easy to use.

Jake’s Scenario

I actually played through with Sherry on this one and had a pretty tough time with it.  Out of the three, this was really the only one that gave me any trouble.  Then I watched the Clueless Gamer segment on Conan, watched him play as Jake, and realized what the problem was.  If you play as Sherry, you are at a huge disadvantage.  All the enemies in the segment are specifically targeted for Jake’s unique abilities.  Which means if you play as Sherry, you should probably be prepared to do a lot of running around and screaming.  At the very least, you should be able to distract the monsters.

Oh, and Jake and Sherry are totally just a reboot of Billy and Rebecca in HD.  You’re not fooling me, Capcom.

Final Thoughts

This is the world’s worst interface.  This isn’t even survival horror bad, this is just bad gameplay.  There have been rumors that Capcom has allowed camera adjustment options in the final build, but I’ll believe that when I see it.  After all, there are very few examples where a gaming company has actually listened to the players.

Many people have had trouble with ammo.  I did not have this issue.  I fear I am too melee happy.

Sad to say, this will be the last of my coverage on the game until it becomes dirt cheap.  I don’t have the funds to endure this level of frustration from the gameplay and the mediocre script to justify sinking sixty dollars into this thing.  Or to bear the continual insults to my intelligence.  I hope the rest of you enjoy it, and hopefully, one day, I will be back to snark at this game some more.

3 thoughts on “Resident Evil 6: Hands-On Demo

  1. I used to be recommended this web site by means of my cousin. I am not certain whether this submit is written via him as nobody else realize such special approximately my difficulty. You are wonderful! Thanks!

Leave a Reply

