Weekend Update

 

This week I watched Silent Hill Revelation and have a lot of feelings about it.  Feelings that seem to disagree with what most of the critics are saying.  I’m under the impression that most critics have become so jaded that all they can see is the flaws in everything unless they’re paid to do otherwise.  I mean, even home reviewers are usually just all about pointing out the flaws.  It’s easy to see the flaws in something, but it takes a bit more to try to find the beauty in everything.  Was Silent Hill perfect? No, not at all.  Was it beautiful in it’s own way?  Yes, and expect to hear more on that when I polish my review.

I still have a few books to review, notably a Lucrezia Borgia book that ended up being unintentionally hilarious, and Season for Surrender, which I actually had the chance to read before it was released but didn’t manage to finish it in time.  That said, it’s very witty and intelligent, and since it has been released, I’ll endorse it now and give my full review later.

Television wise, I’m two weeks behind on my Supernatural recaps.  While they were both filler episodes, they were filler with bite, so I do intend to get those done before the new episode airs on Halloween.  Beyond that, I don’t get ABC, so have just started watching Once Upon a Time.  Suffice to say, it has already broken my heart.  Speaking of broken hearts, I was correct in assuming that the Miles/Monroe reunion was going to happen on a cliffhanger, right before the winter break.  I fully expect Kripke to rip my heart out and stomp on it a few times, as he has done so many times before.

And in gaming news, I have a review for Just Dance Disney floating around in my head.  However, as most gamers already know, Assassin’s Creed III debuts on Tuesday, so don’t be alarmed if I fall off the radar for a bit.  Of course, what I should do is check in while I’m playing.  And if I had a capture card, you can be certain that I would be filming a live let’s play.   What can I say?  I love games and I love to share my knowledge of games.

I recently read an article from a publishing house about picking a pen name.  One of the things they mentioned was picking a name that you would be comfortable being called by for the next however many years of your life, aka forever.  I could just imagine one of their agents coming up to me and saying, “Are you sure you’re comfortable with being called ‘Bubbles’?”  Please, I earned that name.  Not only have I been answering to Bubbles for the past four years, but the story behind the name involves me remaining a bright spot in an otherwise completely dismal place.  So, yes, I think I can handle being called Bubbles.

One thought on “Weekend Update

Leave a Reply

