A Day of Thanks

 

Today, if you live in the United States, is Thanksgiving.  Traditionally, it means you accept generous donations of food from a group of people then spend the next 200 years brutally murdering them.  Since then, the day has evolved to be a day when you give thanks for all the good things in your life.  If you live in a country that doesn’t celebrate Thanksgiving, well, perhaps you could start your own tradition where you set aside a time to show gratitude.

This year, I have a lot to be thankful for.  As always, I have my supportive mother by my side.  I have a place to live, and, while I might not always enjoy it, I have a job that pays my bills.  I have the opportunity to hop online and share my thoughts with people around the world, people who I am grateful to for being readers.

Perhaps most importantly, I’m grateful to be Bubbles.  It’s not always easy being the cheerful person in the room, but it’s who I am.  “You can only be yourself.  Everyone else is taken.”  It takes a lot of courage to be yourself, and I hope everyone takes the moment today to be grateful that they are the person they are today.

Leave a Reply

