Review: 40 Souls to Keep

40 Souls to Keep
40 Souls to Keep by Libby Drew
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I wanted to love this book. I started off loving the book. The premise was so intriguing that for two days I did not want to put this book down. I stayed up late reading it one night even though I knew that I had to go to work the next morning. I crafted dream interviews with Libby Drew. Somewhere about two-thirds of the way through the book, the story just lost me. I think it was because the solution to the mystery aspect was simply too obvious. It was staring me in the face even while the heroes were running around in circles trying to put two and two together when really all they needed to do was focus on what was right in front of them. Seriously, it’s a good thing Lucas is a social worker and not a detective, or else its highly unlikely any crimes would be solved.

I did, however, stick with giving the book four stars on premise alone. While most paranormal romances are about vampires, werewolves, ghosts, or other shape shifters (there’s a selkie in The Mammoth Book of Paranormal Romance), this book decides to take on a completely different type of supernatural. Jase wakes up in a park with no recollection of who is he or where he got there. All he knows is that he has a tattoo of the number 40 on his arm, and he soon realizes he is guided to heal forty specific individuals. No explanation is given for how he gets this power or why it’s given to him, and it’s not really necessary. If this had been a book about Jase tracking down his forty people, I likely would have given it five stars on premise alone.

I would like to thank Carina Press for giving me the opportunity to read and review this book.

View all my reviews

One thought on “Review: 40 Souls to Keep

Leave a Reply

