Illness Around the Holidays

Flu virus

Normally, I like to take a moment to acknowledge all major holidays with a post at least telling people to enjoy the day.  Unfortunately, there was no Christmas message for me to spread this year.  You think I would have, considering Christmas is celebrated by over 160 countries, and it would have been nice to use the communal time to reach out to people around the world.  I wanted to.  I might not have made a full post, but I at least wanted to acknowledge the day.   It didn’t happen, seeing as how I was in the ER Christmas night with a severe case of the flu.  Let me tell you, having a high fever and feeling like you’ve been hit by a train is an unpleasant way to spend a day that is supposed to be spent with family.  To that end, I’m going to add my voice to the millions already advocating flu prevention.

Number 1: Get a flu vaccination.  I bypassed it this year, as I have every year before.  Never had the flu, didn’t see any reason why this year should be any different, and money’s a little tight, even for something as simple as a flu shot.  The sad truth is, it would have saved me more money in the long run because I would not have had to go to the hospital and I would not have had to lose three days of work.

hand-washing-1Number 2: Wash your hands regularly.  Actually, I don’t care if its flu season or not.  Just do this.  All the time.  I’m looking at you, cashier, who went to the bathroom at work and did not wash your hands afterwards and then went and touched everyone’s food products on the way through.  I mean, I know you’re touching all that crack and g-string money anyway, but come on.  Use some common courtesy.  Just wash your hands, okay?

Number 3: Make sure you’re getting enough sleep.  I’ll admit, I failed this one.  I worked overnight into Christmas Eve and had the flu two days later.  Sleep, very important.   Do not underestimate the power of sleep when it comes to keeping yourself healthy.

Number 4:  If you do get sick, remember to stay away from other people until at least 24 hours after your fever has broken or until you no longer feel like you’ve been run over by some type of mass transport.  Belated Merry Christmas to everyone and may you stay safe and healthy through the new year.

Leave a Reply

