New Year’s Resolutions: 2013 Edition

2013 new year sparklerIt seems odd to be talking about my resolutions for the year 2013 when we are just days away from February, and, yet, here we are.  My first excuse is that I have yet to share my resolutions with anyone, and I will be held more accountable for what I do and do not succeed in if someone else, even if it’s just one person, is aware of my goals.  My second reason is because in three days, 36% of the people who have made resolutions will have already dropped them.  I am here to remind you that you don’t actually need to start at the new year to actually take the opportunity to change your life into what you want it to be.  Humans just have a tendency to think that since it is the beginning of the year, they should take the opportunity for other new beginnings.  It’s just a calendar.  You can make your own beginning whenever you want.  So, in the spirit of new beginnings, I am going to share an edited for public viewing list of what I aspired to change about myself this year.

Some experts say that you should only have one resolution per year.  I disagree with those experts, because the more resolutions I have, the more likely that I will be able to finish one of them.  Other experts insist that the only way to stick to your resolutions is to break them down into manageable, bite-sized goals.  This one I whole-heartily agree with.  I won’t bore you with the details on how I plan to accomplish each goal, however, mostly because a good deal of it is quite personal.

  • OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is a set of Kurogane and Fai plush from Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle by CLAMP.  Specifically, it is a plush version of their Holitsuba counterparts.  Currently, they are snuggled in one of my bookcases.   I started working on these little guys my senior year of college.  You will notice that Kurogane is not wearing any clothes.  That was not an artistic decision for the purpose of this photograph.  Kurogane does not have any clothes.  This poor doll has been naked for four years.  There’s no excuse for that, other than my own procrastination, because making his clothes has been on my resolutions list for the past four years.  Honestly, some people.
  • Learn Italian.  This one is another that has been on my list for some time, but it used to be “foreign language.”  I have now quite committed myself to learning Italian, for a very specific reason.  Several, actually.  I want to retire in Italy.  Before that, I have a book I’m planning based on Ferrante D’Este’s life.  There’s a book I want to read about Ferrante, that is only available in Italian. (Don’t ask how I’m going to acquire said book; I haven’t gotten that far in my planning.) I live a Ferrante appreciation kind of life.  Unfortunately, being an English speaking expert on Ferrante D’Este is not a marketable job skill.
  • Which leads me to number three, which is to become financially stable.   I don’t want to be rich, I just want to be able to say, “Yes, I will buy that 100$ book that is absolutely vital to my research” and then not worry about how I’m going to eat for the next three months.  Along with this is getting my driver’s license and getting a car.  Yes, you read that right.  I don’t drive.  My brain never stops playing out the one hundred different possibilities that could arise from any given moment, which makes me hate and fear everyone else on the road with me.
  • I’d very much like to write more.  To that end, I’m making the effort to blog more, to read 60 books this year instead of last year’s 50 and actually review all of them, and to possibly sell a book.  I would love more than anything to sell a book.  But I have self-esteem issues with books and never want to send them out for fear I’m exposing myself too much.  Also, my marketing skills are pretty much non-existent, but I’ve been working on them, as well as making myself as a stronger writer, so even when I do put myself out there, at least I can feel confidant about doing it.
  • Finally, I want to run the Warrior Dash.  And raise money for St. Jude’s while I’m at it.  This falls into everyone’s basic category of getting into better shape, but mine is with a specific goal in mind.  Basically, I’m a fighter stuck inside a lazy person’s body, and this is going to be the most difficult goal for me to accomplish.  I will admit that I am terribly out of shape, but, keeping with my new goals of remembering that it doesn’t need to be a new year, a new month or even a new day to start your way to becoming a new you, I’m working on changing that as well.  Because even more important to me than getting in shape to run the race is the opportunity to face my own shortcomings and fears head-on and overcome them.  Because, basically, if I can run the race and climb those walls and cliffs and …ledges… and come out on the other side victorious, I’ll know that I have the courage inside myself to face any of the other challenges I throw myself up against.  Yes, I am that terrified of the walls.  Look above.  I’m terrified of  driving.  I’m terrified of everything.  I’m terrified every time I initiate conversation with someone online they’re going to think I’m nuts.  Which has happened.  More than once.

I’d love to hear from you.  If you have any inspiration you want to share about sticking with your goals, I’d love to hear it, or just any stories about your experience with resolutions in general.

One thought on “New Year’s Resolutions: 2013 Edition

Leave a Reply

