Review: Dragon Age Volume 2: Those Who Speak

Dragon Age Volume 2: Those Who Speak
Dragon Age Volume 2: Those Who Speak by David Gaider
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

I actually read this one a while ago, yet somehow whenever it came time to do reviews, it kept slipping through the cracks. I love all things Dragon Age: I’ve read the books, I’ve played through both games multiple times (in the case of Origins, on multiple consoles) and I even own a shirt that suggests I enjoy feeding Alistair to the archdemon for breakfast. Isabella and Alistair are even two of my favorite characters, so Those Who Speak should be right up my alley, right next to this lovely hatshop.

Fair warning to those not in the know: Those Who Speak takes places after Dragon Age II and tosses player choices aside in favor of the plot they wanted to tell. I’ve found the best way to deal with this is to pretend Those Who Speak takes place in an alternate universe where the player character made some really terrible choices. That said, I can’t really comment much on the plot. You think the Fereldan nobility would have learned their lesson about allowing their monarch to go on adventures, unless things are really just that bad and they want Alistair dead.

Since it is a comic, I feel obligated to briefly talk about the art. It’s beautiful, particularly Isabella’s costume design in the opening chapters. My biggest regret is that she never got to wear it in game.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

