Review: My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic Volume 2

My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic Volume 2
My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic Volume 2 by Heather Nuhfer
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

I love My Little Pony and have been devastated since season 3 ended, however, this comic was exactly what I needed to fill that pony shaped hole in my heart. This feels so much like the show, that it honestly just should have been made into one of their beautiful two parters, perhaps with some singing. I could heard their voices in my head, except for Nightmare Rarity, or whatever she was supposed to be called, because I didn’t exactly know what she would sound like. Perhaps like Nightmare Moon where she just sounds like herself but with that booming, authoritative undertone?

For those like me who didn’t bother to read the plot because they just wanted more My Little Pony, on the off chance you’re reading reviews first, the dark forces that changed Princess Luna into Nightmare Moon still exist, and this time they’re going after one of the mane six to make sure that the elements of Harmony cannot be used against them a second time. Because Princess Luna promised them a kingdom of their own, and they still want it. The story itself is great for young girls about valuing yourself in spite of your insecurities and fears. By making the focus of the lesson on Rarity, it helps show young girls that your physical appearance has nothing to do with your sense of value, which is a great lesson that even some adults still need to learn.

The only downside to the comic is that the art is on occasion not the same high quality that I’ve grown to expect from the tv series. And by that I mean sometimes the ponies looked weird, anatomically speaking. Like, Fluttershy, how did you possibly scrunch yourself into that shape, it looks positively painful, you poor dear.

Also, is it just me, or does that little creature Fluttershy found on the moon now have two dads? I mean, “Jerome” was talking about how they were going to take good care of their new baby with a moon creature named “Larry.” A+ to My Little Pony for sneaking that one in there, if that was in fact intentional. Kind of like the goat and the one gargoyle in Hunchback of Notre Dame, blink and you’ll miss it.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

