Review: College Boys

College Boys
College Boys by Daisy Harris
My rating: 4 of 5 stars

This was a fairly decent, light read that only took me about a couple of hours to finish. Nothing struck me as particularly spectacular about this book, but there was also nothing about it that made me want to pull my hair out. If you’ve followed any of my reviews, you’ll be familiar with the fact that even books I give stellar reviews to have a tendency to make me want to pull my hair out. The fact that I can’t find anything to complain about this particular work is quite remarkable.

Actually, I do have one, small complaint. It was a tad too short. Between the backstory and all the sex scenes, I didn’t feel like I actually got a chance to know the characters. Not to mention, because of the length, the romance seemed to progress a little too quickly. Formerly classified straight guy falls for the gay guy next door and before you can blink they seem to have an almost perfect relationship? If only things would happen that fast in real life. Normally there’s a whole lot of angst and confusion that goes along with the territory that could easily fill a five hundred page novel. On the other hand, I do get a little tired of “the straight guy suddenly finds out he’s gay and instead of dealing with it whines about it to anyone who will listen forever and a day until I want to throw the book out the window” trope. It was refreshing for him to be so casual about it, like, whatever, my sexuality is hardly the defining factor of my life anyway. Mostly casual. He did suffer a small amount of angst. Actually, it was really awesome. We need more books like this. Books with protagonists who realize there is more to life than who is sleeping in the same bed as them. Kudos to Daisy Harris for that one.

College Boys is fun, sweet, and a great read for someone who was looking for a gay romance to fill a few hours of their life.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

