New Year’s Resolutions: 2013 Review

2013 new year sparkler

 

Here we are, at the end of 2013, and it’s once again time to talk about resolutions.  We’ll talk about next year’s after January properly begins, but first we need to look back at 2013.  I don’t know about the rest of you, but I actually had a productive year.  So here’s the recap of my resolutions for 2013 along with a recap of what I actually accomplished.

 

  • OLYMPUS DIGITAL CAMERAThis is a set of Kurogane and Fai plush from Tsubasa Reservoir Chronicle by CLAMP. Specifically, it is a plush version of their Holitsuba counterparts. Currently, they are snuggled in one of my bookcases. I started working on these little guys my senior year of college. You will notice that Kurogane is not wearing any clothes. That was not an artistic decision for the purpose of this photograph. Kurogane does not have any clothes. This poor doll has been naked for four years. There’s no excuse for that, other than my own procrastination, because making his clothes has been on my resolutions list for the past four years. Honestly, some people.
    • Well, this is embarrassing.   Right after publicly declaring that I had a productive year, I have to admit that Kurogane is still naked.  I briefly entertained the notion of putting aside my responsibilities for the day and rushing through the clothes making process, but it’s not going to happen.  Yes, folks, expect to see this one on 2014’s resolutions as we head into year five of doll nudity.
  • Learn Italian. This one is another that has been on my list for some time, but it used to be “foreign language.” I have now quite committed myself to learning Italian, for a very specific reason. Several, actually. I want to retire in Italy. Before that, I have a book I’m planning based on Ferrante D’Este’s life. There’s a book I want to read about Ferrante, that is only available in Italian. (Don’t ask how I’m going to acquire said book; I haven’t gotten that far in my planning.) I live a Ferrante appreciation kind of life. Unfortunately, being an English speaking expert on Ferrante D’Este is not a marketable job skill.
    • Okay, okay, so I kind of have good news on this one.  I have a rudimentary knowledge of some Italian.  Not enough to read an entire book, but I’ve been taking lessons and have slowly been working on it.  More importantly, I managed to track down a physical copy of that book on Ferrante d’Este and now have a PDF copy on my tablet to be translated at my leisure.  Just as soon as the Italian lessons start to kick in.  So I accomplished part II of my goal without ever really accomplishing part I.
  • Which leads me to number three, which is to become financially stable. I don’t want to be rich, I just want to be able to say, “Yes, I will buy that 100$ book that is absolutely vital to my research” and then not worry about how I’m going to eat for the next three months. Along with this is getting my driver’s license and getting a car. Yes, you read that right. I don’t drive. My brain never stops playing out the one hundred different possibilities that could arise from any given moment, which makes me hate and fear everyone else on the road with me.
    • Okay, so I’m not financially stable, but with my college loans, I wasn’t really expecting that to happen in a single year.  But let’s focus on the more important parts of this resolution.  I got my driver’s license!  And a car!  At the beginning of the year, it seemed like it was almost impossible, but I can now proudly say I am a licensed driver with my own dependable vehicle.  That still doesn’t stop me from getting rides everywhere though.
  • I’d very much like to write more. To that end, I’m making the effort to blog more, to read 60 books this year instead of last year’s 50 and actually review all of them, and to possibly sell a book. I would love more than anything to sell a book. But I have self-esteem issues with books and never want to send them out for fear I’m exposing myself too much. Also, my marketing skills are pretty much non-existent, but I’ve been working on them, as well as making myself as a stronger writer, so even when I do put myself out there, at least I can feel confidant about doing it.
    • Well, I think to an extent I did write more.  I finished two books over the course of the year, one of which was still in the revision stages and another that got thrown back into the revision stage.  Still, they were both technically finished by the end of the year.  As for reading the 60 books, I just finished Dexter’s Final Cut last night, which officially puts me into the 60 book range.  Next year I’ll aim for 61.
  • Finally, I want to run the Warrior Dash. And raise money for St. Jude’s while I’m at it. This falls into everyone’s basic category of getting into better shape, but mine is with a specific goal in mind. Basically, I’m a fighter stuck inside a lazy person’s body, and this is going to be the most difficult goal for me to accomplish. I will admit that I am terribly out of shape, but, keeping with my new goals of remembering that it doesn’t need to be a new year, a new month or even a new day to start your way to becoming a new you, I’m working on changing that as well. Because even more important to me than getting in shape to run the race is the opportunity to face my own shortcomings and fears head-on and overcome them. Because, basically, if I can run the race and climb those walls and cliffs and …ledges… and come out on the other side victorious, I’ll know that I have the courage inside myself to face any of the other challenges I throw myself up against. Yes, I am that terrified of the walls. Look above. I’m terrified of driving. I’m terrified of everything. I’m terrified every time I initiate conversation with someone online they’re going to think I’m nuts. Which has happened. More than once.
    • I didn’t run the Warrior Dash.  I didn’t even sign up for it.  I did join a gym.  I did start training.  And I did sign up for the Zombie Run Extreme this June, making it not only my first 5k but my first mud run.  It’s going to be awesome.  On a similar note, I also took advantage of the year to face some of my other fears.   I finally stepped on a boat for the first time in twenty years.  The last time ended with a fish hook in my knee, and I’ve been terrified of stepping back on them ever since.  But one of my friends thinks going out on the lake is incredible and dragged me with her one day.  You know what?  I actually love boating and will hopefully be going up to the lake more than once this summer.  Maybe when I finally build that nest egg and become financially stable, I’ll have a boat of my own somewhere.

 

What sort of major milestones did everyone else cross this year?  Just because you don’t complete a specific resolution, doesn’t meant that your life didn’t make great strides.  I want to hear all about your accomplishments this year, even the ones that you might not think mean a whole lot.  Maybe by acknowledging the little things, you might figure out last year was better than you thought.

Leave a Reply

