Detoxify My Life : Day 1/30

Time For A Change

freedomI have recently made the decision to detoxify, simplify and re-energize my life over the course of the next 30 days.  The ultimate goal is at the end of thirty days, I should be happier, healthier, and hopefully I will have learned some new habits that are going to stick.   Nothing in particular prompted this, just my firm belief that sometimes change can be invigorating.   If I change things I can control, hopefully other things that appear out of my control will start to change as well.  I’m looking forward to sharing this journey with all of you over the next thirty days.   So, here we are at day one, and the initial changes that will hopefully lead to a better me.

No More BitchBook facebook_like_button_big

My Facebook page frequently becomes mired in negativity.   Listen, I didn’t make your bad life choices so I don’t need to hear about them every day.  Enough is enough.  If you’re having a bad day, fine, but when all I hear about is the bad days, I’m starting to think you don’t like me.  Or you’re just a very negative person, and I don’t need that right now.  I have enough negative energy on my own, I don’t need yours, and I’m trying to switch to a more positive outlook.  I did think about deleting my Facebook account, but then I realized that was stupid.  I use that account to sign into other websites that are still good for me, such as the Daily Challenge, Nike+ and Zombies! Run.

However, it is not just Facebook that is receiving the purge.  I’m also going to start limiting my time on Tumblr and other websites that have become a time suck for me.   Instead, over the next thirty days, I will spend those hours normally spent on the internet doing nothing to do something with my life instead.  Either to work on one of my books or finish one of those many art projects I have lying around the house.  Do not believe I am giving up the internet entirely.   I will still be keeping up on things that are beneficial to me.  I will continue to do book reviews, my daily wellness challenge, and a few other things.  I also resolve to only check my e-mail twice a day, as nothing so important comes in that it needs to be responded to within the first five minutes.

bathroom scaleSay Goodbye to the Scale

My number one toxic relationship is most definitely with my scale.  Mostly because it refuses to lie to me and tell me what I want to hear.  See?  This is an unhealthy relationship.  For the next 30 days, my scale is going to be in an undisclosed location, picked by my mother so I won’t even know where it is to pull it out and take a peek.   Farewell, scale!  All you have ever done is put too much unnecessary pressure on me anyway.

 

 

Rearrange My Life

Starting with my bedroom.   I don’t remember the last time my room got a good cleaning, and my desk has been in the same position since we moved into this house about sixteen years ago.  Give or take.  The desk mostly stayed static because of a broken leg, but with a little help, I managed to move it this time as well.  The first step was obviously to get the bed in the new location.  Regardless of what else was completed, I needed the bed to sleep in that night.   But the bed was going where the desk was, and the desk was going where the dresser used to be.  The dresser has made a temporary home where the bed used to be, but it should be replaced with a few bookshelves by the end of the week.  There’s only so much that can be done in a single day, especially since I had to work yesterday as well.   While all the furniture was being moved around, I also took the time to scrub down the walls behind everything with a vinegar solution and vacuumed the carpet underneath.  Rather messy and dusty work, but the end result will be well worth it.

I hope you’ll join me on this next thirty days of awesome.

Leave a Reply

