Detoxify My Life: Day 2/30

freedom

Day 2 was largely uneventful in terms of making changes to my life.  I worked a midday shift, which made it difficult for me to get anything done around the house, such as finishing the rearranging of my room.   Before I went to work, however, I did manage to sneak in an outdoor workout.   Outside of running, this is the first time I’ve done an outdoor workout.  Nothing major was accomplished.   Tried some burpees for the first time.   The Spartan Race is on my bucket list of mudruns, and they want to bring it to my area next year.   Hence, I need to brush up on my burpees, and yesterday seemed to be the perfect day to start.  It’s very invigorating to have the sun beating down on your back and the dirt underneath your hands.   I think I need to add several outdoor workouts to my regimen per week, especially now that the weather is getting so lovely.

The other thing of note I accomplished was I figured out how to install the paper towels at work.  It might not seem like much, but ever since the maintenance guy quit last week, we’ve been out of paper towels at our hand sink in the department.  I not only learned something new, I did something that benefited everyone at work.

As for the technical side of things, I managed to avoid going to Facebook.   I was not as successful at staying away from Tumblr.   The Hannibal finale broke me and I was really hoping that fandom would deliver some gold material to take off the bite.  Fannibals have yet to let me down in that regard, so I don’t consider it a complete waste of time.  In that regard, browsing the internet was healthier than keeping it bottled up inside.

I am six weeks behind schedule on my reading challenge for this year.  Hopefully with the time I’m freeing up by not being on the internet, I’ll be able to get that caught up, as well as a few other projects that have been gnawing at me.

Leave a Reply

