Detoxify My Life: 3/30

freedom

Memorial Day, and I had to work early in the morning.  To celebrate the holiday, when I returned home, I played some Saints Row IV.  Because becoming the president and killing some aliens to avenge Earth is how we celebrate patriotic holidays in my house. For dinner, we had steak and spinach pasta salad (recipe to follow).  I had originally planned on a run this evening, but due to a leg injury, my evening run was converted into an evening hike.  We went to the pond with frogs to see how they were faring this spring.  A large one was swimming around on the far side of the pond, but he was too far away to get a good picture of him.   For a time, I sat on the edge of the pond and waited for the frogs to resume froggish activities closer to me.  They were unobliging, but it was very peaceful to sit there and listen to them.  As for the rearranging of my room, the dresser and one of the bookshelves made it to their new destination.

Spinach Pasta Salad

Ingredients:

1 lb box Farfalle

1 6oz bag Baby Spinach

3 oz pine nuts

1 cup shredded Italian Cheese (I use an Asiago blend, but any hard shredded Italian cheese will work)

1 bottle Lite Caesar dressing (I use Newman’s Own Olive Oil and Vinegar instead)

Directions:

1. Cook the pasta according to the directions on the package.

2. Drain the pasta and let it cool completely.

3. Mix together the pasta, spinach, pine nuts, and cheese together in a large bowl.

4. Pour dressing on to taste.  I use 3/4 of the bottle, then save the rest for leftovers.  That way if it dries out in between meals, you have some left over to bring some life back into  it.

5. Serve chilled and enjoy!

Leave a Reply

