Review: Will Grayson, Will Grayson

Will Grayson, Will Grayson
Will Grayson, Will Grayson by John Green
My rating: 5 of 5 stars

This is my third trip into the mind of John Green and my first experience with David Levithan. I wish all John Green books were like this. Good, yet not depressing. I credit Levithan’s influence. When they first agreed to start writing this, he was probably like “No, no, we are not going to see what we can do to break the readers.” Thank you, Mr. Levithan. It was a refreshing change.

So, “Will Grayson, Will Grayson” is about two boys who share the same name, and the comma that separates them and brings them together at the same time. Each chapter is told from the perspective of alternating Will Grayson’s, each Grayson being spearheaded by each of the authors. It took me a while to get into Levithan’s style, but once I did, I was really glad I decided to pick up this book.

Best part:

I mean, Jesus, who even gives a fuck about sex?! People act like it's the most important thing humans do, but come on. How can our sentient fucking lives revolve around something slugs can do.

As someone who has had this opinion about sex ever since I discovered what it was, I felt really connected to Green’s Grayson at that point.

This book already has a ton of praise written about it. My copy even has a false cover so that the inside two pages filled with glowing reviews are placed on eye-catching, shining pages. Anything I say at this point would likely be repetitive. If you have the opportunity to do so, give this one a chance. You might be pleasantly surprised.

View all my reviews

Leave a Reply

