Happy 2016 and Resolutions!

ResolutionsPicture

 

As we start the new year, I find myself asking a lot of questions about my future.  What am I going to do with the rest of my life? Am I ever going to be able to pay my bills? How many books can I challenge myself to read in the upcoming year since I failed at the usual 52 this year? Do I really have to turn 30 in five months, and have I failed as an adult by the time I reach 30 since I still can’t pay my own bills?

Some of you may remember that instead of doing traditional resolutions at the beginning of the year, I ‘ve started doing the one word challenge. I can’t really say if it’s a better option, because I failed at the one word challenge last year as much as I fail at my normal resolutions, but I’m willing to give the idea and myself a second chance.

This year’s word is going to be “new.” New house, new adventure, new friends, new challenges, new bill paying system, new attitude, new job, new languages, new runs, new distances, you name it. This year is going to be all about change, but not change into old habits like I did at the end of 2015.

I’ve already started embracing the idea of new.  There’s a race I’ve never done before north of me that I’m thinking of signing up for.  I’ve started a 10K training program so by November I’ll be able to run the Marathon on the mountain.  I’ve acquired a passion planner to help keep me on track for my goals.

 

I let work get the better of me during 2015, and part of my new attitude entails not letting that happen to me again this year.  It’s time to make a new, better me, and I hope you’re willing to join me for the journey.

 

I challenge you to take this journey with me.  It doesn’t have to be extreme; it can be something as small as a new habit to keep up with your laundry better before it becomes the dreaded laundry monster.   Whatever it is, it’s a new year.  Now’s the best time to look closely and decide what in your life you want to make “new.”  Share in the comments below what “new” thing you want to achieve and what steps you want to take to accomplish it.

Leave a Reply

