Comic Pick of the Week 09/14/2016

Pick of the Week

407215-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_ 416931-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Voltron: Legendary Defender #1 and #2 (of 4)

When Team Voltron takes on a dangerous training mission in deep space, Coran, Princess Allura’s majordomo, is captured by an ancient enemy. It will take teamwork, smarts, and, of course, Voltron, to save their friend’s life.

As Team Voltron searches for a treasure that can settle Coran’s debt and save his life, the beasts they have to fight keep getting bigger and nastier! When a mountain monster has Voltron on the ropes, Hunk realizes they’ll need more than brute strength to stop it.

Look, I know both of these are older, but I jumped on the Voltron bandwagon kind of late. Hunk and Keith need to totally date already.  Since they were my favorites from this week’s haul, they tied for my top pick of the week.  It’s written by the show writers so you don’t have to worry about any moments where the characters don’t feel like themselves.  I don’t know why this just wasn’t an episode, but I guess they make more money by releasing additional material as a comic.The first one is  a great start, but the second one is where this story really starts to shine.  (Which makes it a darn shame that it’s only going to be four volumes long.  I suggest a petition to continue this indefinitely while we’re waiting for season 2).  Benefits of the second issue definitely include the team deciding that maybe its better if they listen to Hunk, unlike the last time with the pirates.

Reasons to pick this one up:  Um, it’s Voltron, and I think we could all use a little more Voltron while waiting for the second season.  Also, Hunk gets to be in the spotlight, which is something that needs to happen more in general.  I vote to promote Hunk to the star of the show.

Reasons to avoid:  Keith, don’t be mean to Hunk.

Runner Up:

406310-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Black Panther (2016-) #6

RISE OF THE DORA MILAJE! T’Challa’s failures as king are revealed to the UNITED NATIONS! Ayo and Aneka, the Midnight Angels, are courted by Tetu and The People to raise Wakanda to glory, but at what price? The storyline that has critics raving and retailers selling out continues!

I picked up this series after falling in love with T’Challa watching Civil War.  If you aren’t reading this one yet, it’s definitely one to check out for the politics alone.

Reasons to pick up:  The Midnight Angels, who I hear are going to be getting their own series soon, continue to inspire me.  It’s amazing watching all the stories unwinding together, and I’ll probably end up rereading the first five soon.

Reasons to avoid:  You’ve had enough of politics on Facebook and don’t want to think about it during your comic reading time.

Honorable Mentions:

397968-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Wonder Woman (2016-) #6

WONDER WOMAN YEAR ONE” part 3!Diana brings Steve back home, but the reception is not what either of them expected. Amid suspicion and a looming threat, the Patrons pay a visit, and new friendships are forged.I think I’ve mentioned before that I’m not as fond of Year One as I am of The Lies.  However, both series have had consistently gorgeous coverart.  Gods as woodland creatures is also a plus.

 

 

 

Something Else I Picked Up This Week:

406380-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Star Wars: The Force Awakens Adaptation #4 (of 6)

Rey, Finn, Han and Chewie have reached Maz Kanata’s castle…but the Force is calling Rey to Luke’s lightsaber! Meanwhile, our heroes have been discovered! The First Order strikes!

Honestly, I’m only still reading this because I’m halfway through and I feel committed now.  Although, there was a whole page dedicated to the one helluva pilot scene, and that pleases me.

Leave a Reply

