10/19/16 Comic Pick of the Week

Pick of the Week

434454-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

 

Wacky Raceland #5

A bad batch of mutated mushrooms sends our antiheroes on a white-knuckle trip down memory lane. Flashes of repressed recollections bubble to the surface of the Racers’ fevered brains, and these tantalizing tidbits suggest a single point of origin: a high-tech facility from hell known as the Butcher Shop! Against the advice of the omnipresent Announcer, the Racers roar towards the facility. But will they find answers…or death?

Why must this be ending?  This was the first series I picked up that wasn’t a spin-off or a character I had fallen in love with watching Captain America Civil War (*cough* Black Panther *cough*), and as such it will likely always hold a special place in my heart.  Especially considering it just decided to get really good.

Reasons to pick this one up:  All the drivers are tripping.  While the series has always been entertaining, it took a turn to really good in it’s cliffhanger ending.

Reasons to avoid: It’s a two parter.  If you don’t do well with waiting, I would wait for the final volume to come out.  I have come to the sad conclusion that we are never actually going to get Sergeant Blast backstory, which is a tragedy.

Runner Up:

432807-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

 

My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic #47

Election Part 2: The election race between Filthy Rich and Mayor Mare is closer than expected! With disagreements between friends growing, will the town find a way to unify and chose the right candidate?

The official summary is misleading.  The election race is not close, it’s over and Filthy Rich is the new mayor.  A better summary is “Someone with no political experience gets elected and promises that were made quickly fall apart while life becomes almost unbearable in Ponyville.”  Not exactly subtle, but My Little Pony is well known for hitting the nail on the head.

Reasons to pick up:
Look, it’s the story of what happens when you elect someone into office that has no political experience.  The fallout is real.

Reasons to avoid: It’s like a crossover between Tremors and the 2016 Presidential Election.

 

 Honorable Mention:

415246-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Assassin’s Creed: Locus #2
Tommy Greyling, a Pinkerton agent in London, is on the tail of a murderer, and out of his element. Lucky for him, Inspector Abberline of Scotland Yard is on hand to show him how things are done in London – with the help of Evie Frye and Henry Green!

I’ve made it my mission to collect all the covers featuring Evie Frye as she is my main reason for reading this.  Which means she needs to be in it more.  I don’t actually care about any of those other people.

 

411780-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Harley Quinn #6

“EAT TO THIS BEAT” part two! Harley’s carving her way through the rock underground of New York City, looking for the brutal criminals who hurt someone she cared about…unfortunately for Harley, one of the crooks in question has fallen in mad love with her.

I do believe two weeks ago I said that I didn’t need the return of the Joker.  I stand by that assessment.  Although, the final panel of the “superhero and super-villain fetish club” was well worth the rest of it.

 

 

 

385594-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Torchwood #2
Far away from Cardiff and the Hub, Captain Jack and Gwen dive deep to unravel the secrets of an ancient, extinct civilisation, whose colossal megaweapons are being primed to affect the Earth. Caught between human agencies, infiltrating aliens, a unknowing public and an uncertain future, can a Torchwood stripped of its resources and staff still save the day?!

As a patron of all things Torchwood, clearly I had to have the comic written by John Barrowman added to my collection.  Now if only Torchwood hadn’t killed off all my favorite characters, maybe I would be able to get into this more.

 

413898-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Black Panther #7
THE CREW STARTS NOW! With no one left to trust, T’Challa leans on his day ones: Luke Cage. Misty Knight. Storm. But Wakanda may be too far gone for this all-new, all different CREW.

Look, I love all the characters involved, but I don’t want this tying into whatever the Marvel Now thing is.  I’m very much one of those people who wants to stick with the series that I like and ignore all the rest.  I don’t want to have to read fifty other series just to continue to enjoy Black Panther.  My wallet can’t handle it.

Leave a Reply

