11/09/16 Comic Pick of the Week – Special Election Edition

Pick of the Week

441441-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

 

Voltron: Legendary Defender #4(of 5)

 

Team Voltron’s quest to save Coran’s life gets extra-complicated when they have to face off against brain-sucking mushrooms, an ancient chess master, and a sphinx’s riddles. Can Pidge lead Voltron through these tests of brains and brawn in one piece?

Okay, so I’m super excited that this was a Pidge-centric one, because I love Pidge and this was a great look inside her mind.   The last three issues of Voltron got me shipping new pairings, so I came to this one prepared to pick up yet another Voltron ship.  I got nothing.  If anything, I got renewed Heith vibes.  I mean, Hunk says the answer to the Sphinx’s riddle is love, Lance says pretty much the same thing, and Keith gets all defensive, like, damn it, Hunk said it first, Lance.  Also, was that a tiny hint of Kallura I picked up at the beginning?  Maybe it was.  It’s one of the few Voltron ships I’m missing out on.

Oh, and how about that Shiro cover for the surprise volume 5 coming out next month?  Beautiful.

Reasons to pick this one up:  Much like we got a glance into the inner workings of Lance’s mind last month, we got to see how Pidge’s brain works this time.  Very analytically, not surprisingly.  Also, it’s good to see Pidge front and center, all things considered.

Reasons to avoid: None.  There are no reasons to avoid Voltron.  It’s amazing.  It’s definitely the distraction every one needs from time to time.

Runner Up:

425373-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Star Wars: Poe Dameron #8

NEW STORY ARC STARTS HERE! Agent Terex has sworn vengeance against Poe Dameron! But how does he always seem to know what Black Squadron is doing? Could there truly be a traitor in their midst?

Poe, how many times do I have to tell you, Kare is the traitor?  I don’t like it, and I know you certainly won’t like it, but she is the only one not in the movie.  I for one would much rather have her as a traitor who splits at the end to rejoin with the First Order than have her killed.

On the other hand, Poe is kickboxing and I’m in love.

Reasons to pick up:  Poe kickboxing in that tank top.  I swear, the art is really starting to grow on me or something.  I found it really beautiful this week, maybe because I prefer it to The Force Awakens artwork.

Reasons to avoid:  Agent Terex backstory to this point is rather predictable.  Here’s hoping something comes along to really surprise me.  Like Poe being straight.  Just kidding, I would never want that, not even to break up the monotony.

 

 Honorable Mention:

447404-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

My Little Pony: Friendship Is Magic #48
“Chaos Theory” Part 1 (of 3). The craziest, most epic MLP story yet! Multiple versions of ponies are springing up around town and strange new beasts stalk the land as an orb of energy grows larger in the sky. Twilight and the Princesses have no answers… but Discord might!

My heart breaks for Fluttershy when Discord turns into Accord, it really does.  Also, I can’t help but feel that in a way My Little Pony is still playing the political field when Accord tells the Princesses that they could not possibly have a happy, united kingdom when they had ponies with such different view points, as I have no doubt that individuality will play an important part in the resolution of this story arc.  Also, I’m terribly sad that I did not manage to snag the Princess Luna cover.

 

425433-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Black Panther: World of Wakanda (2016-) #1
“YOU DESERVED SO MUCH MORE, LITTLE FLOWER. YOU DESERVED A WAKANDA THAT CHERISHED YOU.” Writer ROXANE GAY (Bad Feminst, Hunger) spins a Wakandan love story — its tenderness matched only by its brutality. You know them now as The Midnight Angels, but in this story they are just Ayo and Aneka, young women recruited to become Dora Milaje, an elite task force trained to protect the crown at all costs. What happens when your nation needs your hearts and minds, but you already gave them to each other? Illustrated by industry veteran ALITHA E. MARTINEZ (Iron Man, Black Panther). And in a special backup story, acclaimed poet YONA HARVEY (Hemming the Water) explores the true origins of The People’s mysterious leader Zenzi. Black Panther thinks he knows who Zenzi is and how she got her powers, but he only knows part of the story… Illustrated by rising star AFUA RICHARDSON (Genius).

Midnight Angels backstory, Midnight Angels backstory!  I am so hyped for this!  It might have made the pick of the week had Voltron and Poe not come out the same week.
422249-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Harley Quinn (2016-) #7

“EAT TO THIS BEAT” part 3! Harley’s punk-rock epic concludes with her and her bandmates in way too deep on their undercover mission to take down a brutal gang of thieves and murderers!

I love Harley Quinn, I really do, but I feel like this series started out strong than fizzled too quickly.  I’m inclined to blame the two week format.  Next issue is apparently the Bahamas issue I was promised, so it might be time for some redemption.

 

425493-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Star Wars: The Force Awakens Adaptation #6 (of 6)
It’s the Resistance vs the First Order as the attack on Starkiller Base continues! Meanwhile, Rey must use a lightsaber for the first time in a battle against Kylo Ren! Will the Resistance finally find the mysterious location of the vanished Jedi Luke Skywalker? The saga continues!

It’s over!  It’s finally over! I can stop throwing money at this thing every month in the hopes that it will get better.  Spoiler alert: It didn’t.  I love The Force Awakens, but this was basically a play by play retelling of the movie without bringing anything to the table.  It seems rather pointless to have Chuck Wendig’s name as an author credit.  I kept through to the end mostly to see if they rewrote the kiss (both the original script and the book did not have a specified location), but they didn’t.  They kept it on the forehead.  They also appear to have added more Snap and taken out Poe running after Finn’s medcart at the end, provided that’s him up Jessica Pava’s butt towards the end.  For shame.

That is it for this week’s comic pick of the week!  Hopefully sometime in the near future I’ll be able to provide an update on the weeks I missed.

Leave a Reply

