11/16/16 Comic Pick of the Week

Pick of the Week

429534-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

 

Reborn #2

MILLAR and CAPULLO’s epic sci-fi fantasy story continues. After her death, Bonnie is reborn in Adystria and has a sword thrust into her hand. As the evils within the Dark Lands get stronger, she is Adystria’s only hope: their savior.

My biggest worry when a new series comes out is how quickly it will fizzle out.  Reborn has continued on strong in the second volume, with enough withheld on how this afterlife works to keep readers coming back for more.   Although, I feel like someone has something against cats, because dogs get to come back as giant armored friends to help you find your missing loved ones, but cats are evil cause you took their testicles.  I’m rather hoping this was just for that particular cat and dog and not all dogs end up in the happy reunion place while all cats turn out evil when they’re dead.

Also, I’m calling it now: her husband went to the bad place.  Don’t have any theories about the mother yet, but give me another issue or so.

Reasons to pick this one up:  It continues to explore an interesting alternative to the afterlife that I still want to sign up for.  I want more details into this universe and how it works and why people enter it at different ages, not necessarily the age they die at and likewise how aging works in this place.

Reasons to avoid:  The cat thing.  People take dog’s testicles too you know.  I mean, are we assuming Cujo got a free pass into the good place just because he was a dog?

Runner Up:

 

425553-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Jessica Jones #2

There are so many mysteries to discover in the Marvel Universe and Jessica’s new case may be the most dangerous one. No spoilers, but some of the biggest questions about the new Marvel NOW! are about to be revealed in this very comic.

I had my doubts about this series because they’re pushing the Marvel NOW angle, saying that the greatest reveals of Marvel NOW are going to be in this comic, and I’m not all that interested in reading the entirety of Marvel NOW.  I just don’t have that kind of money, and I don’t know why I should have to suffer just because I happen to dig Jessica Jones.

Thankfully, the Marvel NOW does not seem to be intruding too much on the plot of Jessica Jones.  There’s enough mystery to keep me interested without asking me to read the other series (yet).  That and the beautiful covers push Jessica Jones into the runner up category this week.

Reasons to pick up:  The covers are gorgeous, and the plot is interesting enough to keep me hooked.

Reasons to avoid:  Why can’t Jessica stick the super hero landing?

 

 Honorable Mention:

422391-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Assassin’s Creed: Locus #3
The streets of Victorian London are a much darker place than the avenues of new York… as Pinkerton agent Tommy Greyling is finding out! Hot on the tail of a murderer, it seems there’s more to this mystery than meets the eye. Luckily for Tommy, he’s in the hands of the Assassin Brotherhood!

I have continued with my streak of collecting the Evie centric covers and hope to get the last one as well.  However, there is not nearly enough Evie in the actual comics, and considering that was why I wanted them in the first place, they’re not really delivering the way I had hoped.

 

426619-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Grimm Vol. 2 #3
When things have completely spiraled out of control, who can you call on to help set them right? Why the woman who is responsible for putting you in a coma, sleeping with your boyfriend, and turning you into a hexenbiest, of course! Juliette must fight her urges to get feral on Adalind in order to save innocent lives in the team-up we never expected to see.

One of the reasons I quit the show was because of the way the show responded to what Adalind did to Nick.  The fact that the comics are willing to call a spade a spade made me contemplate this as the pick of the week.  But, much as I love to see the women of Grimm coming front and center, I still don’t like Adalind all that much, so it got knocked down to the honorable mention section.

425523-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_Black Panther (2016-) #8
VOYAGE INTO THE DJALIA T’Challa’s research and technology takes him to a place that not even THE CREW can follow: THE DJALIA, Wakanda’s collective memory. Just getting there was hard, but finding SHURI across their nation’s past, present and future might turn out to be impossible. Even so, the strain on his Soul-Stalker abilities might tear him apart before he gets very far…

That whole Marvel NOW thing didn’t last very long, so I’m glad I didn’t have to worry about that.  Marvel wants too much of my money, and I’m just not down with that.  Don’t they know I’m broke with student loans to pay?

In an attempt to keep this spoiler free, I will simply have to insist that you read this one.

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

