Comic Reviews 01/11/2017

444675-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Star Wars: Poe Dameron (2016-) #10

Poe and Threepio’s covert mission comes to an end! Can they escape with their informant intact? Or will Terex’s past come back to haunt them?

Poe Dameron was the reason why I started reading comics in the first place.  It was the reason why I sought out my local comic store so I could  read them on a monthly basis without the internet spoiling everything for me.  I was disappointed this week.  Consistent characterization must not be Soule’s strong suit.  Last issue, Poe was all for droids being valued members of society and all droids were his friends, and the rest of his squad is definitely his new family.  This month he’s threatening to give an uncooperative robot a robo-lobotomy and actually leaves one of his squad mates behind.  What the hell, Poe?  What happened to you from last month?  Does a stun blaster to the chest also cause personality disorder or is the writing just that bad?  There are no highlights to this month.  I want to purge this month’s issue from existence.

444640-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Jessica Jones (2016-) #4

Jessica Jones latest case has revealed a new hidden evil in the Marvel Universe. An evil so terrifying she was willing to rip her family apart to save them from it. But was the sacrifice enough? Another all-new blistering chapter of Marvel’s premier detective.

I will admit that I fell in love with Jessica Jones after watching the show on Netflix.  I wasn’t exactly sure what to expect when I picked up the comic, but I quickly fell in love with the design of the covers.  And after the first four volumes, I can definitely say this is the Marvel comic I look forward to the most every month.  It started off slow, but things really started to pick up this time around.

441716-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Wonder Woman (2016-) #14

“YEAR ONE” conclusion! With Steve Trevor by her side, Diana faces the God of War and embraces her destiny as Wonder Woman!

I’ve been on the fence with Wonder Woman for a few weeks now.  Do I continue?  Do I drop it because I’m broke and I’m not entirely sure if the biweekly format is worth it?  Will things ever start to come together?  Am I going to go see the movie this summer even with D.C.’s horrible record?  The answer to most of these questions remains to be seen, but at least this issue is worth it.  Or at least the battle sequence involving Wonder Woman, the patrons, and Ares.  I’m still interested in seeing where this is going, and I have discovered a soft spot for the character.  So it hasn’t been dropped yet.

447592-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

God Country #1

SERIES PREMIERE. Emmet Quinlan, an old widower rattled by dementia, isn’t just a problem for his children—his violent outbursts are more than the local cops can handle. When a tornado levels his home—as well as the surrounding West Texas town—a restored Quinlan rises from the wreckage. The enchanted sword at the eye of the storm gives him more than a sound mind and body, however. He’s now the only man who can face the otherworldly creatures the sword has drawn down to the Lone Star State…“So much fun to watch creators fi nd that next level. Go, Cates, go!”—BRIAN MICHAEL BENDIS

 I first heard about God Country a few weeks ago when the workers at the comic book shop were talking about it.  However, they failed to say anything about the plot or what made it so interesting so I was very much on the fence when this one came out.  The art was what really sold me.  It’s different from what I’m used to, but utterly gorgeous.  The fact that we’re dealing with an apocalyptic story of biblical proportions is an added bonus.

Leave a Reply

