Comic Reviews 02/08/2017

462296-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Deadpool the Duck #3 of 5

Rocket Raccoon? Roxxon? Where are Wade Wilson and Howard the Duck? On a mission to get their own bodies back, of course! Deadpool the Duck is in over his head (tail feathers?) in this out-of-world adventure!

I enjoy this much more than the last Deadpool series I started.  In fact, the last one I stopped after about three issues and don’t intend to keep those if I could sell them.  Deadpool the Duck, however, I’ll probably keep on through the end, especially since there’s only two more.

Their constant bickering makes the comic entertaining, if nothing else, and there’s always the question of what’s going to happen to Rocket Raccoon.  If they don’t manage to cure him of the rabies, will Wade Wilson make him into a rug?  A fancy Davy Crocket hat?  Perhaps we’ll never know.  Mostly because I don’t think they would actually kill off Rocket Raccoon in a Deadpool comic.

 

 

462301-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Star Wars Doctor Aphra #4

Aphra’s father has led her straight into danger – of course. Her business on Yavin 4 concluded, Aphra journeys off…in search of one of the most powerful weapons imaginable!

I love Doctor Aphra so much, I almost want to investigate the Darth Vader comics.  Almost, but not quite.  Perhaps it has something to do with my desire to see Star Wars leading ladies that are not white brunettes, but unfortunately, it looks like that’s what we’re stuck with in the movies for the foreseeable.  And people wonder why I’m starting to like the expanded universe more than the actual movies.  Here’s a few reasons: Doctor Aphra, Sinjir, Shara Bey, Kare Kun, Poe Dameron (who admittedly is in the movies, but even some fans don’t think he’s that important to the overall plot).

Doctor Aphra and her murderbots are causing mass chaos on Yavin 4, just the way it should be.  You know who else has murderbots?  Snap, Jessika Pava, Cassian Andor.  I love murderbots almost as much as they do.

430756-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Torchwood 2.1

Gwen Cooper has been pulled away from her domestic bliss by the reappearance of Captain Jack Harkness, and his companions, the crew of the alien tech-filled ship the Ice Maiden. No sooner has Gwen rejoined the team, than they has to contend with jetski-riding ninjas, a mystery involoving an alien race known as the Navigators, the return of the roguish Captain John Hart, and the revelation that the current Lady of Torchwood House, Karina is far from what she seems. As we rejoin events in the midst of a stand-off, things are more than a little tense…

I really love Torchwood, okay?  Some people seemed surprised by that fact, and I don’t understand why.  Torchwood is amazing.  Also, a lot of the comics I read have a common element, so cookies to anyone who can figure out what that is.  Most of them.  There are a few outliers that don’t fit the pattern, but mostly they have the one major thing in common.  Oh, and since I love Torchwood so much, I would continue to but this one even if it sucked.  Spoiler alert: it doesn’t.  Although I have discovered that there are Torchwood books that I am missing, and I aim to fix that as soon as possible.

Oh, it bears mentioning that this is Torchwood back when it was good, not when they decided to screw everything up.  We love that they specifically tell you what trade you’re buying from.  I wish all comics would do that instead of having me guess all the time.  Is it four, is it six, is it five, seven?  No one knows.

459348-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Wonder Woman (2016-) #16

“GODWATCH” part one! Since the moment Wonder Woman arrived in our world, Godwatch has been waiting. But who are they, and what do they want? Diana’s journey to the truth continues with the origin of what may prove to be her greatest enemies.

I love Wonder Woman, but I’ve almost had about enough of this.  I’m lost now.  I figured that it would get easier to follow the further into the storyline we got, but instead it just got more confusing.  This is the opposite of progress.  But at this point it’s like, I’m sixteen volumes in, do I really want to quit now?

462331-_sx1280_ql80_ttd_

Jessica Jones #5

Jessica made some tough choices to save her husband and child from the clutches of the latest hateful madness that has hit the Marvel Universe. But was it enough? Another all-new chapter from Jessica’s original creators. The new adventures of Jessica Jones that you’ll only find right here.

Ah yess, I knew Jessica Jones wouldn’t let me down!  I was a little hesitant about this series at first for a number of reasons.  One, my experience with the character was limited to the Netflix show.  Two, they kept saying about how this was an integral part of the Marvel Now universe and I wanted nothing to do with that.  I just wanted to read a comic about Jessica Jones, not break my wallet.

I’m so glad I decided to stick with this one, because at volume five, towards the end of the first trade, things really start to get good.  The woman’s husband that she was hired to track in the first volume has killed his wife, and his reasoning might just destroy the fabric of the universe.  At least for Jessica.  Of course, her friends in the Avengers already started taking care of that on their own, but the real question is, how far down the rabbit hole are we going to go?

That’s it for this week!  Tune in next week for more My Little Pony, some more Walking Dead with maybe some death this time, and the answer to our most burning question, will Poe Dameron ever return or are we going to be stuck with this Han Solo knock off til someone finally pulls the plug?

Leave a Reply

